More on the McCain-Palin ticket!

In my haste to vent my feelings this afternoon, when news broke about the new gal on the ticket, I forgot the cruelest joke of all. Thanks, Mary, for reminding me in your comment that if age were to claim McCain, we would have this woman as president. My head spins at the thought of it. I really think the only thing that kept Bush from being booted out on his cocky behind was that we woud have had Cheney as president, a far worse fate. Even a young, healthy candidate has to consider what would happen if fate intervened.
Obama has picked a candidate who could move up and take over. I’m sure Hillary would have done the same (and will do in eight years 🙂 . McCain’s obvious attempt to create a candidate based on what he thinks women really want is beyond laughable. In the worst case scenario of his win, death and transfer of power to Miss Alaska, it would be catastrophic.

I tried to be objective when listening to our Dem covention. I tried to hear it as an uncommitted voter- as a general message beyond party lines. We all want to bring our troops home. We all want to provide for them and their families. We want health care and education for all, and jobs to stay here in America. There was no talk of handouts or giveaways. Obama made it clear that the dream should be there for anyone willing to work for it. He made it clear that government cannot parent and that we must bear the burden of energy conservation and community service. I am so tired of hearing the Republicans accuse Democrats of having a welfare mind-set; of giving everything away. With apologies to the good, wise and fair Republicans (and there are many) I am tired of the Good Ol’Boy hierarchy.

Coming of age in the middle of the Viet Nam “Conflict” years, I remember the bumper stickers that said “War is good for business-invest your son.” For Haliburton, Cheney and the fat cat politicians making billions of dollars on this war in Iraq…for the Texas oil barons and big oil companies playing war games for profit… it’s a sad truth. They don’t care what price we pay in lives and dollars, nor do they care who is going to rebuild America.

It’s time for us to separate government from business and politicians from profit, on BOTH sides of the fence. It’s time we started thinking about what is best for our country and our future. Unless we can learn to blend blue and red into a harmonious shade of purple, we stand the chance of ripping our country right up the middle. Our forefathers would never have believed we would dissolve into a civil war. Can we be sure?

I am supporting candidates who pledge to make peace and promote bipartisanship. I don’t want another gun-toting yahoo to get in office and start taking pot-shots at anyone who disagrees- especially on the world stage. As a proud American, I find comfort in allies around the world. I want a leader who will work with other world leaders for the common good, not yell “Bring-em-on.” I want my country to be respected, not feared; admired, not hated. I want the world to know that we the people of America are nothing like the people in charge thee last eight years. The truth is, I am really anxious about what lies ahead. I hope, when the dust settles, that we will still have some global allies left.

I’d like to think everyone will see McCain’s Veep choice as the desperate attempt it is, and understand how little the republicans seem to respect the enormity of this election. This is not a damn video game, boys. Wtacking up points doesn’t matter, and when you see the flashing “Game Over”…it really will be.

One Response to “More on the McCain-Palin ticket!”

  1. Stop US Wars » Blog Archive » More on the McCain-Palin ticket! Says:

    […] Amy wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI am supporting candidates who pledge to make peace and promote bipartisanship. I don’t want another gun-toting yahoo to get in office and start taking pot-shots at anyone who disagrees- especially on the world stage. … […]


Leave a Reply

