Time Warner and Channel 4 need to get together!

We are all creatures of habit and have our own favorite channels and programs. The way cable television is structured, we must buy a package of things we don’t like to get what we need (dish systems are the same). While I don’t purchase any premium movie channels, I do admit to buying “expanded” basic cable just to get one channel.

Yes, I’m a hopeless anglophile and love BBCAmerica! Many of our popular American shows are copies of successful British programs. I find things to watch on the BBC at all hours, so I justify the expenditure, but I could care less about the rest of the channels.

The expanded basic cable tier on Time Warner goes to channel 170. Does that mean I get 170 channels? Nope. Basis cable goes to 99 but there are lots of empty slots there as well. I understand that a pick and choose system of buying programs might not be profitable for the cable or satellite owners, but taking away our local channels hits below the belt.

Time Warner is giving out free antennas to get Channel 4. Duh! In our rural area, north of the Ridge Road escarpment and on the lake, antennas don’t get a signal, so we must rely on paid services. Besides, those antennas won’t work after February, as they’ve been informing us non-stop for the last year.

Out of 170 channel positions, I watch less than 20 channels. I would gladly give back every sports channel, shopping channel, music video channel and lots more just to get Channel 4 back! Admittedly a late night person, I am missing Letterman and my favorite Craig Ferguson at a time when political humor is at its best, and lord knows we need a laugh over this election! I miss CBS Sunday Morning and Channel 4 news (the only weekend fix for news junkies like me). It’s nice of our Canadian neighbors to broadcast the Bills game for fans in Niagara County, but I don’t watch any sports but the olympics.

I don’t know anything about the contracts between stations and servers, so I don’t know if the Lin Broadcasting demands are outrageous or not. All I know is, I am already paying way too much for too many channels I don’t want or watch, so if it costs a penny a day to get my local Channel 4 feed, take my $3.65 now and let’s get on with it!!!

To Lin Broadcasting- I resent being told in your waning days on the air to “switch to dish TV.” I do watch Channel 23 but would give up the ‘two-fer’ package just to get Channel 4 and the CBS feed back, if that’s what it takes. More is not necessarily better, as channel surfers well know. This whole fight is ludicrous and it’s the customers and loyal fans who are being hurt by it. Yeah, yeah, it’s only television and not the most important thing  in the world right now, but it is a big issue for many. For some people, TV is their only entertainment and escape. For the elderly and shut-ins it’s a window on the world and we don’t care about MTV, QVC or half of the channels you added to our feeding tube.

Can’t the sides put the consumer first, for once?? Everybody is hurting economically so we understand that business is tough, but greed is even harder to swallow. Both sides are leaving a bad taste in our mouths!

One Response to “Time Warner and Channel 4 need to get together!”

  1. Sports News » Blog Archive » Time Warner and Channel 4 need to get together! Says:

    […] Sunny Side Up placed an interesting blog post on Time Warner and Channel 4 need to get together!Here’s a brief overviewI would gladly give back every sports channel, shopping channel, music video channel and lots more just to get Channel 4 back!…It’s nice of our Canadian neighbors to broadcast the Bills game for fans in Niagara County, but I don’t watch any sports but the olympics…. […]


Leave a Reply

