Eating humble pie

Not an hour ago I was blogging about cold and snow like it was a bad thing. This is a journal entry from my friend Mykel, who is 10 years old and was diagnosed with a Wilm’s Tumor on his kidney on Halloween. Despite grueling chemo to try to shrink the tumor for removal, he has remained optimistic and his Caring Bridge journal entries show a wisdom beyond his ten years. Today he is longing for the same snow that I complained about. I am eating humble pie, Lord! Here is Mighty Myke’s entry.

hi its mykel wow i had a great week today mrs HEITZENRATER came over and gave me a quilt that she made me she owns her own quilt shop it was so cool how she made it now i can take it with me when i go to roswell for my chemo and when i have my surgery . I HAVE 5 MORE DAYS UNTILL MY SURGERY THEN I WILL BE IN CHILDRENS HOSPITAL TO RECOVER OH I AM A LITTLE SCARED BUT I WANT TO GET THIS TUMAR OUT OF ME !! IT MAKES ME FEEL LIKE JUNK !I WANT TO GO OUT AND PLAY IN THE SNOW .YA THOSE OF YOU WHO HATE SNOW WELL I LOVE IT..JUST REMBER NO MATTER WARE YOU LIVE THERE IS ALWAYS SOMETHING ””….I WISH THER WAS A PLACE YOU CAN GO WERE THER IS NO TUMORS OR CANCER HURTING PEOPLE LIKE ME AND MY FRIENDS …WELL THER IS THAT WOULD BE HEAVEN BUT I AM NOT READY TO GO THERE JUST YET MY MOM SAID WE STILL HAVE ALOT TO DO HERE SO I KNOW THE RUFFINI FAMILY WILL BE STICKEN AROUND ..SO THOSE OF YOU WHO WAKE UP AND SEE SNOW OR WHO HAVE TO GO TO WORK OR SCHOOL JUST REMBER WE ARE ALL IN IT TOGETHER SO JUST BE HAPPY AND BE GLAD WE ALL HAVE ANOTHER DAY TOGETHER ……WELL GOT TO GO SEE YA SOON BALD IS IN SO FOR ALL YOU BALDYS OUT THERE WE ROCK!!!!!!
2 Responses to “Eating humble pie”

  1. The Meaning of Existence (and all that) » Gratitude Watch 2009-01-05 Says:

    […] You,’” some thoughts about “gratuitious thanks” and how it is not enough; and “Eating humble pie,” where one person’s misery is another person’s gratitude … and can turn the […]

  2. Daniel Brenton Says:

    This post was also highlighted in the January 5th edition of Gratitude Watch.

    Thank you again.


Leave a Reply

